Thursday, February 26, 2009
Wisdom of ages...
We decided to take advantage of the icredibly cheap health care that South Korea has to offer and get my wisdom taken out. Before we left the states, Marie and I both got checkups from the dentist and what not. Well my dentist told me that there was no problem and that my teeth could wait to come out till after we returned. I assumed that he meant my teeth came in strait, no big deal... Yeah not so much... I went to go get an x-ray to see if my teeth could just be yanked out and no such luck. My two bottom teeth came in completely sideways and i needed surgery to get them out. Well we decided that it was much more financially savvy to do it here still and i went in wednesday around 5:30. In the states, they put you under while they do surgery... Not here. i was given a local anesthetic (sorry Rose if that is spelled wrong hehe) which consisted of a couple novacain shots to the roof of my mouth (OUCH) and some down time to allow my mouth to loose feeling. I then had a heavy cloth placed over my face that looked like a doorknob hanger. It had a big hole for my mouth (duh) and then a slit for my nose. My eyes and everything else were covered up. He started with my bottom right tooth, which i was informed before hand that they would have to cut the gums (yeah ok i accepted that without question) and then he would cut the tooth itself in half before removing both halfs... (Yeah that concept threw me off alittle) Then he moved on to my top wisdom tooth. This one was going to be "pulled" out. So when i hear of teeth being pulled out i get a mental picture of a kid placing a rope from his tooth to the door knob and slamming the door. Well that is exactly what they did... Just kidding. But it was an extremely primative, grab the tooth with vice grips and pull as hard as i can procedure... Interesting to say the least. In total, the surgery only took about 35 minutes and i was out the door. The grand total for this excursion... drum role please... around the equivilant of 35 US dollars! No Joke. Now the only down side is that they would not do both sides of my mouth at the same time, so i get to go back and get the left side down in about a month! This is me being excited!
Monday, February 16, 2009
Coffee conclusion
Since we have moved here Marie has got me hooked on coffee to actually wake up. Well i have come to the conclusion that coffee does not actually make you more aware, it just makes you have to pee ALOT and that in turn wakes you up! The bathrooms are really cold here too :(
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Ski resort trip

Koreans like to put on concerts in weriod spots...this is at the bottom on the hill at the ski resort.

The Black Diamond slopes.

We spend the weekend at a ski resort about 2 hours outside of Seoul, which is ironically about 3/4 of the way across the country. We left saturday morning and headed up there with a large group of people. We were on the slopes untill 10 pm and then headed to our cabins for some korean bbq and beer. It was the first time i had ever been to a real ski slope and the first time i had ever been on a real snow board. Granted Jason and I would buy crappy wal-mart brand snowboards and act like we knew what we were doing... but knowing now what it is really... We were way off man lol. Marie rented ski's but the slopes were a breeze for her becuase she knew what she was doing. Me however, took a little work to perfect my incredibly novice style of snowboarding. I started on the beginer hill, although at first i was thinking about going for the intermediate hill. And i have to say that if Jason was here with me, we would have went big or went home... but anyway, it took me about 35 minutes to make it down the hill for the first time. I was on my butt every few feet... not exsagerating. Well you have to carve with your board, in other words turn your board sideways so that you don;t fly ten thousand mph down the mountain. Well when you turn your board to have shift your weight so that the board is tilted up the hill not down. Yeah i know, common sense, easy enough sounding...... not so much. If the front edge of your board catches the snow... face first, sliding down the hill like it is a frozen ass slip and slide! Well the same goes for carving in the other direction, when you have your back faceing down the hill. This carve was a little harder to do becuase lets face it, you stand backwards on the top of a mountian and tell me how camfortable you feel lol. So as the day went on and i kept picking myself up off the frozen ground, i quickly started to find my groove and was managing to only fall roughly 4 times in one trip down instead of the 16 or so like when i started. At the end of the day i was comfortably going down the intermediate hill with Marie, yes still falling, but not nearly as often and as a plus, i had learn how to catch myself from all the falling practice i did earlier in the day. Well as the day ended, I was pretty happy with myself and the progress i had made on the snowboard. But.... let me tell you about the morning after. I woke up in pain all over my body. I legs hurt becuase it took alot of leg strength to control the heavy snowboard. My arms and wrists hurt from falling and catching myself so damn much. But worst of all... My butt hurt sooooo damn bad that i had to ask Marie to check it out and... Bruised! My butt has three GIANT black and blue bruises on it! No joke. It has made sitting on wooden chairs a little difficult here at work :(. But over all... I loved out ski slope experience and would go agian anytime. I can confidently say that (hopfully) i would be confident enough in my skills that my butt would come back unscaved!
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Cuban Cigar!
So you can find cuban cigars over here in various places. i decided to find a place that sold them so i could see what the hype was about. Supposedly Cuban cigars are the best smoke ever... Well it was slightly expesive thats for sure. about $12 bucks for one of the cheaper cigars. Anyway, i lit is up and tasted it, no special taste or anything like that (well i wasn;t really expecting a different taste or anything) But it did burn nice and smooth and smoke pretty well for what it was worth. And it is freaking HUGE... so that is cool. Marie took a picture of me with it in my mouth, so i took an Al Pacino/Scarface type pose, or at least attempted to. Overall, i would say was a pretty good purchase, even though i am not a smoker, but a good cigar is nice every now and then. And plus, i can say i have had a cuban when i get home :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
